Words with Resan.

Hey Kids
This post goes out to my man Resan.  He’s got a heavily distinguished style and can control like nothing I’ve ever seen, making colours blend as if they were oil paints.  I first met Resan at the Tortuga Studios wall and I’ve been following his work since then.  Got the chance to have a quick interview with him and here it Is – pretty enlightening stuff. 
 
J: First up, where did you learn to paint like that? It’s insane.Resan: Haha, cheers man. It’s really a culmination of 8 or so years working with spray paint. My roots are in traditional graff and I was used to working with really flat crisp line work, thinking of spray paint as something to produce 2 dimensional work. I got a bit bored of that and realized there was so much more potential in the can. When I learnt to fade colours my mind was opened and I started to think of the can as more of a paintbrush and approach the wall with a more painterly aspect. I originally applied that to 3D letters but just recently I’ve decided to step back and loosen up and have since moved away from letters to focus character-based elements. I dedicated some time into actually learning how the can works mechanically and what can and cant be produced from it, its amazing how many different effects come out by simply holding the paint at a different angle to the wall or by how quickly you move or how close/far away it is to the wall. I’m still a student of the can.
 
 
J:The first time I saw you painting was at the Tortuga Studios wall. Where most people stood around and took the good part of a few hours to paint their work you were done in no time at all. Why/how do you work so fast? 
 
Resan: As I said I used to paint letters and was used to trying to get your work on the wall as quickly as possible and bail. When I was doing letters it used to take me ages to get things done. I looked at the way I sketch and realised I’m not cut out for doing super clean crisp work. I decided I’d play to my strengths and loosen up with the way I approach lines and fills, be a bit more gestural so that I can pump out what’s in my head.
I also have a mad short attention span when it comes to painting. I’m gonna blame TV for that.

J: You seem to have a pretty healthy obsession with faces, what’s the origin behind that?


To be honest I don’t know when I really started doing faces. When I first started to work with characters I was looking predominantly at anatomy and doing full figures. The face within those characters was something that I kind of neglected or shied away from, probably because it’s so easy to fuck up a face. I thought, ‘Im not gonna be the best artist in the world if I cant draw faces’ so I worked on it and I suppose it stuck. I’m trying to break away from faces a little bit now, just because I’m pretty comfortable with them and I think I’ve dug myself a bit of a rut.
Keep your eyes out for more animals and technology.

J:Other than spray paint, what mediums do you like working with?I’ve studied fine art and because of that I’m reasonably familiar with traditional media. I really enjoy working with acrylics, oils and inks when I’m painting small scale, but my true love is for the technical pencil. Some of my favorite work is done with a techie and eraser on a bit of scrap paper.
 
J:Which artists inspire/inspired you, street or otherwise?Resan: So, so many and all for different reasons (Resans).In terms of fine artists id say my greatest influences are Rene Almanza, San, Herbert Bagleone, Francesco Goya, Marcel Duchamp,Egon Schiele, Francis Bacon,  Shaun Tan, Katsuhiro Otomo and Ashley Wood. Rene Almanza is super dope and seeing his work really pushed me to get anatomy and faces right (but still wrong), when you see his work you’ll know what I mean.Moving to the street, I still have massive love for letter work, in particular a movement that’s taken off in Europe and the states recently called Graffuturism. As the name suggests, I really think that’s where things are gonna be going. Cats from that scene to keep an eye our for are Antistatik and the Orbit 119 crew, Da Mental Vaporz crew from France (especially Brusk), Augustine Kofie, Jaybo Monk, and one of my all time favorites ZOER CSX. Youll be seeing a lot of ZOER influence in my future work


Other street artists I really admire are Twoone, Shida, Aryz, Eleven, Lister, and of course Kid Zoom. I also have to mention the dudes I paint/have painted with as I’m still always learning from them. Dudes include OX King, Bafcat, Houl, Fingers, Roter, Knomer, Dirt, Terrible Horrible, Skulk, Birdhat, Lasek and Icons.


J: 
I’ve seen allot more of your work over the last few months, what spurred you to get up recently?

Resan: About a year ago I was going through a huge creative block and couldn’t get anything down on paper. When you need to do art to keep sane this is your worst nightmare. At the start of this year I went on a trip to Europe to clear my head and get some fresh influences. I suppose it worked because I came home and really picked up the quality of my work and had much more of a drive to get out there. The dudes I paint with, in terms of pushing me to get out there and get involved in shows and whatnot, have also helped me out a bunch.

 

J: Got any exhibitions or showcases coming up?

Resan: There’s a few things in down the pipeline, mainly ill be focusing on a few projects that I’m really excited about. If I can get my shit together and the world doesn’t end this December you might be seeing a Resan solo show early next year. Im the type of person who likes to keep things hidden until Ive perfected it, then come out with a bang.

 

J: If you were to have one artist from any time period paint a wall in your room, who would it be and why?

Resan: That’s a super hard question! I usually cycle between a few favorite artists at any given time. But if it’s from any time period: Future Resan. I’ve probably got a lot to learn from that dude. That way I could watch the way He/I work and get a head start on my own shit! But if I met myself and learnt those techniques then the stuff that future me would have shown me would be even better! I don’t wanna get into it… far too complicated. On a more serious note. Probably ZOER, Dude is a master, whenever I see his work I have no idea how anything hes done has been achieved. Hes got a serious understanding of the can.

Huge thanks to Resan for taking the time, check out his tumblr @ http://obsolete-art.tumblr.com/page/12
And as always, thanks for reading.

J

Leave a Reply

